2024 UKBGF Clubs Championship

This year’s annual UKBGF Clubs Championship will be held in York on the weekend of 20-21 of July in conjunction with NEBA

The main championship will be held on the Sunday (July 21) but on the Saturday there will be an individual event.

This page will be updated with teams and individuals as they are registered.

The weekend’s action will be held at Derwent College, University of York, University Road, Heslington, York YO10 5DD.  This is the same venue as the Clubs Championship in 2019.

Up to 32 teams will be able to take part in the championship.  It will cost £150 per team – made up of £100 entry fee and £50 registration (with a £10 surcharge for non-UKBGF members).  Each team will comprise five players.

Priority will be given to the first team from a club that registers for the event, then second and then third teams should clubs wish to enter more than one team.

For those wishing to register a team/teams and take part in the individual event, please email . Keith at:  keithgill1@live.co.uk  Please provide:

  • Team names (eg NEBA 1, Bristol 2 etc) and the names of the people for each team.
  • Your name for the individual event and which category you wish to take part in (intermediate/advanced).

Payments should be made to:

North East Backgammon Association

Account number : 53170760

Sort code : 30-84-82

For team payments, please put the name of the team as the reference.

For payments for the individual event, please put “Clubs” as the reference.

Saturday – individual event:

As a warm-up there will be an individual event with a main, consolation and last chance sections on the Saturday.  Subject to confirmation, it is planned that the format will be straight knockout, with the main as 9-point matches, the consolation 7-point matches and the last chance 5-point matches.

There will be two separate flights: Intermediate and advanced, limited to 48 in each section.

The individual event costs £65 to enter made up of an entry fee £40 – all to be returned as prize money – with a registration fee of £25.

Sunday – Club Championship main event:

The group stage of the club championship will be held on the Sunday morning, with the top teams going into a main knockout event and the others going into a consolation/shield event.  Subject to confirmation, it is planned that the event will consist of 5-point matches.

Accommodation and food:

For those wishing to take part in both events, or stay overnight on the Saturday night, accommodation is available at the college.

B&B rates are either £45.50+VAT (£54.60) with a packed breakfast or £51.50+VAT (£61.80) with either cafeteria breakfast or hot/cold breakfast sandwiches on the Sunday morning.

The booking links and code are below.

Friday and Saturday Night – Code UKBGFYORK24


Sunday night – Code: UKBGFSUNDAY


Shops are both on the campus and nearby for anyone wishing to buy food on Saturday.

The UKBGF is providing a free meal for the Sunday lunchtime.


There are direct trains to York from London, the South West, Manchester/Liverpool, the North East and Scotland.  The college campus is approximately 15 minutes by taxi from the train station.

There is free parking at the college all weekend.

XX means that both the registration and entry fees have been paid – a single X indicates the entry fee has been paid.

The teams so far registered for the event are:

NEBA 1NEBA 2ThameGammon (xx)Stirling and Falkirk (xx)Birmingham 1 (xx)
Birmingham 2 (xx)Cambridge ACambridge BEast Kent 1 (xx)East Kent 2
Clissold ArmsWest YorkshireLiverpoolBrighton 1 (xx)Brighton 2 (xx)
St AlbansBelles of St AlbansHarrogate AHarrogate B St Anne’s (xx)
 Coventry (xx) Nottingham Robin Hoods (xx) Nottingham Little Johns (xx) Winchester (xx) Worcester (xx)
 Manchester (xx) No Squ-Ealing (xx)   

The latest list for the Advanced individual event is:

Graeme TurnerPaul MoultonMiranda MoultonMartin BarkwillNeil Webb (xx)Alastair Woods
James NewmanIan Hesketh (xx)Ovidiu Mihail PopaMatthew FisherIan Davidson (xx)Ben Andrews
Gary LloydMartin TaylorDaniel de Meester (xx)Peter Finnimore (xx)Phil Tutchings (xx)Tim Parfitt (xx)
Daniel Rovira (xx)Steven Atkinson (xx)Mike Grabsky (xx)Nils Figenschou Simon Jones (xx) 
 Sean Thomas (xx) Luis Dawber Crispin Duke Stuart Rogers (xx) Andy Darby Anna Parker (xx)
 Robert Young (xx) Paul Statter (xx) Adrian Jones (xx) Stephen Carder (xx) Sean Jones Jamie McPherson
 Reece Hodges Dave Sanders Ian Gwynne Peter Bennett (xx) Daniel Feeney 

And the latest list for the Intermediates individual event is:

Tim SpringRikki BlytheJune WilliamsonAlex WardChas Pickard (x)Andrew Baxter (xx)
Mark Williams (xx)Maria FergusonGraham Sparshott (xx)Matthew Guy (xx)Richard Kuby
Martin WilksTim Hall (xx)Bianca CiorirlanAndy DebenhamAndy GilbertIan Bissett (xx)
Wendy Hunter (xx)Peter HodsonMichele De Haviland David Tingey (xx)Ruth Flack (xx) Michael Bishop
 Martin Tatllow (xx) Roland Archer (xx) Ian SquireHuu Chi Tran Jonathan Lamb Hannah Parente
 Aniel Ciobanu Jay HayterChris G Rogers Sion Edwards (xx) Greg Ashworth